A Golden Tree Grows in Edmonds

Gold Leaves with Green

For the first time in a long time I had my camera on me while I was walking the dog. David was there, too, and he was going to take some outfit photos. This tree is growing in the middle of my very ugly parking lot and it took my breath away by how brilliant it just seemed. Very glad I had my camera on me! We don’t get a lot of stunning foliage in the Northwest, after all. Mostly it just gets soggy.

Brown VeinsI can’t remember where I heard this from (maybe from this book?) but there’s this idea (theory? proven, irrefutable fact? imaginary statement that I’m coming up with as I’m typing this up? I have no clue) that all the core color combinations we use are based off of color combinations we see in nature. Blue and gray, like the ocean, or green and brown, like ferns and dirt. My favorite example is the combination of red dirt & turquoise, a color combination seen a lot within the art of the native American tribes in that region.

I’d like to dress up according to this photos. To grow out my hair really long and let it be wavy, and wear a tighter shift dress the color of the leaves with small bits of blue and brown embroidered on it. It’s so cheesy writing this, but I love that everything that makes up people–all of our cultures and art and imagination–all of it has roots with our experiences and observations of the world around us. I like playing that game in my head every now and then–to look at something very clearly designed, whether it’s an outfit or an abstract design in a magazine, and see what elements root back to nature.

Gold with blue sky

Leave a Reply

