Time Traveling Red Polka Dot Pants

Side note? David and I saw a dress that had a scotty dog print on it and I called it a polka doggie dress. He thinks I’m the most cleverest. Anyway.

So I’m time traveling to bring you this outfit. Impressive, no? I figured I’d travel back to when I had a full(er) head of hair. It’s no secret (it shouldn’t be) that I have an ongoing war with anxiety, and that my closet is often the battleground. David is super patient when I change my outfit seven times on a bad day, and has lately been getting attached to my red polkadot pants. They were rejected on a stressful day and he tried to encourage them. “Maybe it’s a red polkadot pant day?” he suggested gently. I told him that I couldn’t handle it. He suggested that maybe that’s exactly when I need the pants the most. Sad to say, they weren’t worn that day.

But.

But the next day, in a similar stressed out crisis, he suggested them again and it worked.

Marci 6-9-13 Full

Marci 6-9-13 2

 

But even more of an also? David looked pretty sharp that day as well, so I had to get some shots of him in. He’s a way better model than I am, and makes much nicer faces. I mean seriously, look at how cute this mug is:

David 6-9-13 Love Face

David 6-9-13 Full

 

Kels, who was David’s coworker for a while in addition to being one of my bffs, joked about how she could always tell when David showed up to work in something I picked out, versus something he picked out. To be fair (and to make me sound a lot less like a control freak) it’s usually a combined process. He’ll ask if he needs a sweater, or he’ll ask if the shirt is okay with the pants, and I usually yay, occasionally I will nay. Like this outfit–I bought him the sweater and picked out the shorts, but the shirt, shoes, and combination of all four was all him. All him and all awesomeness.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Time Traveling Red Polka Dot Pants

  1. I like both your outfit but my favorite thing is your shoes- so cute! It’s so interesting how what you wear can effect how you feel emotionally. When I’m in a rush to get to work and don’t pick out an outfit that’s “right” I can often feel icky all day. Control over my outward appearance gives me the feeling like I can control other things in my life, and helps me feel less anxious. Anyway… looking forward to more outfit pix:)

    • I was totally trying to work in an whole Sisterhood pun but couldn’t pull it off without it sounding forced, so I’m glad you picked up on that 😉

Leave a Reply

