I don’t like horror movies but if I did

I would totally recommend Cabin In The Woods and also also John Dies At The End*.

Seriously though I’m not one for horror movies. Avoiding violence in media is something I used to pride myself on, that I was still incredibly sensitive to guts and gore is a badge of honor. I’m the girl who walked out of Thirteen Twenty Eight Weeks Later (hahah woops!) in the first five minutes, and won a battle of wills with her junior year block teacher who insisted on showing gruesomely violent war documentaries. David and I have a lot of conversations about violence in media that tend to make him (self-admittedly) uncomfortable because they challenge the idea strongly maintained by most gamers that violence in games isn’t the problem–that it’s something else that’s at the root of the issue. I won’t argue against it, per say  but I definitely don’t think that going along with the culture of violence is going to help anything.

TANGENT! Anyway.

They’re not brand new releases, I know, but they’re my favorite gross movies. They’re in totally different genres but still both totally worth watching. People who’ve seen them both might be wondering what I think they have in common, and that’s pretty simple. They’re reflections of our society’s high violence threshold. They approach the issue differently. In John Dies you might miss it entirely, but it’s there. I promise.

We watched John Dies last night and it was hilarious. David came home half way through the day sick from work (d’aww poor guy) and I put on this movie, assuming correctly that it would cheer him up. He laughed through the whole thing. I laughed as well, although I watched the movie through half closed eyes most of the time. It was such a strange experience to watch a movie that couldn’t attain that level of humor without an equally high level of gore.

Cabin in the Woods is impossible to talk about with spoilers, but needless to say I’ve been a Joss Whedon fangirl since discovering Buffy in middle school. This movie was way beyond my threshold of gory grossness, but after my sister forced me to sit through the movie (and there was actual forcing–I almost left the theater several times), we talked about the movie for two hours. It was an amazing conversation, and I’ve since sat through it a second and soon-to-be third time. It’s a powerful conversation starter and requires that high level of gore to spark the right topics.

Anyone out there watch both these movies and see what I’m getting at? I’d love to know your thoughts, especially if you can recommend other movies in a similar vein! Keep in mind that I really only watch like one or two gross movies a year, though.

*Both movies are on Netflix. I should be sponsored by those guys for all the times I plug their stock

5 thoughts on “I don’t like horror movies but if I did

  1. This totally relates to what we were talking about yesterday with Borgia. I saw Cabin in the Woods but it was so long ago, I don’t remember any of it. I think having a lower threshold for violence is an wonderful trait to have. It’s an area of innocence within your soul/heart/being/whatever. It’s not exactly a badge of honor to be able to say “I can watch people brutally tortured and feel nothing.” It creates the Kitty Genovese effect and that kind of apathy ruins one of the most important aspects of humanity: concern for our fellow human. (BTW, in regards to Borgia, they showed a form of torture that I couldn’t stand so much that I had to leave the room. It’s called “The Pope’s Pear”. Don’t research it if you don’t already know what it is. Trust me. Thank God we’ve stopped doing that.)

  2. Cabin in the Woods is the perfect “scary” movie. I love it endlessly, and even though I’ll play nice and won’t give spoilers, I cheered out loud when a certain “horny” beast went on a rampage. I think you’ll pick up what I mean with that. 🙂 In this same vein of movies, I think you would ADORE Drag Me to Hell. It’s scary but has an amazing, half slapstick/half-very-black sense of humor: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1127180/

Leave a Reply

