I stopped living in denial last week

I’ve had this secret that I’ve been hanging onto, guys, and I’ve been clutching to it pretty tightly. I figured it didn’t matter, and no one needed to know and I could just ignore it forever. Then I had a medical thing crop up that turned out to be, although rather mild overall, the straw that broke the camel’s back. My mom talked me off the ledge of hysteria with some well-placed reminders that a lot of the problem could be the result of, or at least exacerbated by my deeply ignored….

food allergies.

There, I said it. Kels is rolling her eyes and laughing sympathetically, but the thing is I know I’m allergic to two things. Eggs make me throat feel like I tried to snort a cheese grater and wheat isn’t that nice to my body either.

So why on earth have I spent the past five (I know, I know!) years in denial about it? Well–have you ever tried to cut those two things out of your diet? Particularly when you also don’t eat meat? And are the life partner of a bonafide carb-a-holic? Yeah, it’s pretty tough. Technically dairy should probably also be on that list, but a girl has her limits.

Take away cookies, and I sigh despondently.
Take away my eggs for breakfast and I’ll pout for a while but live.
Take away milkshakes? Ice cream? Chocolate? I will cut you.

It’s definitely hard but worth it, at this point. I’ve been meal planning like crazy and figuring out which foods I can easily keep in my apartment to munch on throughout the day. It’s only been a few days and already I feel better. I forgot that it was possible for my stomach to be in a state of not-hyper-extended-bloat. It feels really good and it’s also been unexpectedly exciting to get back into cooking! I don’t want to be one more blogger who posts gluten- and egg-free recipes, but if you guys want to know the hundreds of way I cook quinoa, just let me know and I’ll post a recipe or two.

Update: So I realized I made it sound like I’m still a vegetarian, when I stopped being one a while ago. I don’t particularly like meat but when I cut two main staples out of my diet I stop limiting myself in other ways. Also, I’ve done the gluten free thing before, which is partially how I know what it’s like and that I do better without wheat. I definitely appreciate the support, but I’m also very much not fumbling around in the dark–I’m grateful I’ve already done this before, because it means I already have the cookbooks and a general sense of what I like to eat when bread is a no go πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “I stopped living in denial last week

  1. I also do not eat much wheat…but that’s because I don’t eat many carbs. I am very sensitive to carbs and even just a tiny tiny amount causes me to blow up. I was going to say we can be “we don’t eat this and that and the other food” blog friends … but then the whole vegetarian thing. I am a meat-a-holic. But anyway, what I’m trying to say is it gets easier. You find things to substitute… coconut flour, almond flour, chia seeds, flax, etc. While I do eat many eggs, I am constantly trying dessert recipes that are low carb and grain free. I am sure there are many blogs out there for egg free grain free recipes. πŸ™‚

  2. You nailed my response! If you need any suggestions, I did one month gf/vegan and I’m pretty good at substitutions. I totally support you going allergy free. You can totally rock everything free cookies btws-they’re just kinda pricy-PCC and whole foods have awesome gf biscotti and of course Flying Apron in Freemont (sooooo goooooood and so gf/vegan).

  3. Oh I know the food allergy/intolerance denial thing so well. I’ve been lactose intolerant for as long as I can remember, but it took me until I was eighteen to accept it. I went through years of stomach aches and bloat, and finally I just said “maybe I can do dairy substitutes?” I still cheat, a little bit of cheese here, some ice-cream there, but I’m getting a lot better at it.
    I’ve got a short list of foods I really shouldn’t eat (bananas, spicy stuff, heavy meats, etc.) but I’m still learning. It’s definitely hard cutting out favorite foods, but if it’s hurting your body you learn quickly what’s worth sacrificing and changing in your diet. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

