What to Wear on St Paddy’s Day

what to wear

It isn’t easy being green–in fact, for me, it’s pretty difficult and I’m sure I’m the lamest participant this week on What to Wear. But you know, that’s okay, because I love my outfit. Even if it isn’t the greenest of the green!

Marci 3-7-13 full

Sweater & Skirt: Thrifted | Sequined Tank: Charlotte Russe | Leggings: Gift | Shoes: Madden Girl

 

I’m really not one for celebrating this holiday. I don’t like beer and I don’t like Irish food. I do however like wearing green when I have pink hair. It’s a weird thing but when I dyed my hair completely pink in college, I had this moment of freaking out about what to match it with. At the time I had this really comfortable military green long sleeve thermal with owl print on it that I loved and I was so sad that it wouldn’t match my hair. Then this light bulb clicked in my head and I realized that *gasp* I can wear whatever I want to, color of my hear be damned. I know, it’s a silly epiphany, but that’s what college is about. Right? Anyway…

Marci 3-7-13 collage

 

I used Sarah’s, from SillyGrrl, collage to make that one and man I love her templates. So easy peasey, and I was even using them on Gimp! Yay for cross compatibility! Oh and that face I’m making on the right photo? That’s the face I make when David and I get busted taking pictures by my little old lady neighbor. Awkward… Also, the ridiculous pose on the left is what happens when David says “well, any other poses you want to do?” Speaking of David (does this post feel rushed yet? Because I feel absolutely scatterbrained writing it), I got him to pose for a few photos as well, since he ended up decked out in green too!

Shirt: Kohls | Tie, Pants & Shoes: no bloody clue

Shirt: Kohls | Tie, Pants & Shoes: no bloody clue

Lesson learned–next time I want to feature one of David’s outfits on the blog, ask him where his clothing came from, I guess. I only know where the shirt is from because I picked it out. I love when he wears that shirt. He has a matching eggplant sweater that looks fabulous with it, and the first time he wore them together to work Kels (who he works with because, you know, small world) was like “Marci dressed you today, didn’t she?”

David 3-7-13 Collage

 

Well be sure to check out the rest of the fabulous ladies who are participating in What to Wear! I’ve already seen some and trust me when I say you’ll be green with envy!

Nicole: Gypsy in Jasper
Sondra: Abhaya Yoga
Lisa: Not Ladylike
Sarah: Exploring Woods
Amanda: Salvaged Strawberry
Lisa: Lala Faux Bois
Shayla: Northern Exposure
Lexi: The Girl Who Says Quack
Stacy:  Let it Unravel
Amanda: Little Lady Little City
Sara: My Life out of a Lab Coat
Katie: Chestnut Mocha
Victoria: Word Under

14 thoughts on “What to Wear on St Paddy’s Day

  1. Yay! I love that David posed for photos as well. I have been trying to convince Ian that he should participate one week, but he’s just not into being in front of the camera. Not even a wee bit.

    You look great. And, you’re right, you can wear whatever colour you like with your beautiful pink do! 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s so easy to get caught up in making sure everything is matchy-matchy, at least for me it is. Dying my hair some crazy color is the best way to help keep me out of that problem though!

  2. I used to have the same opinion about the color pink, that nothing would match with it. My mother has tried in vain to make me more of a pink girl. Recently, though, I consented to two hot pink shirts (very similar to the color of your hair, really) and found I’ve been wearing them constantly, because they provide just that hit of color to outfits that I love. The color really does go with everything! 🙂

    That outfit is adorable on you, and you made a great choice on David’s shirt. I love love LOVE the purple/green combo, but I’m a little biased because they were my wedding colors.

    If you don’t wear those outfits out to like an Irish pub, I think at least you should go somewhere fun for St. Paddy’s in those outfits. You two look too good not to go somewhere!

  3. Love the story about your epiphany. I have never had wild colored hair, but I am sure I would be trying to match it with everything. I am trying to not be so matchy-matchy actually (prints with patters, florals with florals) and it’s a little out of my comfort zone but I like it. Anyway, love this skirt and D’s shirt, too. What a handsome fella! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

