What to Wear in Blue

what to wear

You guys might want to brace yourselves. I heard the prompt Blue and immediately thought of an outfit I wore a while back, which is my all-time favorite blue combination. I wanted to change things up, though, since I have a thing about repeating outfits. It took some random grabbing of clothes, but I even managed to wear a skirt I usually ignore.

Sweater & Tights: Target | Shirt: Romy | Skirt: Thrifted | Shoes: B&G

Sweater & Tights: Target | Shirt: Romy | Skirt: Thrifted | Shoes: B&G 

Saturday is coming to be our reliable date day, and this past Saturday I dragged David to the middle of the big city we moved right next to and off to my favorite free art museum, Frye. Seriously, if you haven’t heard of this gem in the middle of Seattle than you should definitely get on that. In true hipster mode, I’ve been going there since my age was barely in the double digits and it’s just totally my happy place. I used to skip class in high school and hop a bus to go downtown and spend the day in the museum. Fond memories.

marci blue top half

More exciting than blue, though, is definitely the colors pink and purple! If my bangs look brighter that’d be because I re-dyed them the other day. I picked up a bottle of red dye as well, thinking to lighten up my brown a bit to blend with the pink. It didn’t work, though, since my hair is way too dark, so I dumped a bunch of purple on top to see what happens. Because that’s how I roll.

Marci blue hair

Magic is what happened. I love love love this color and I’ve decided that if purple was a color that appeared naturally on humans, this would be the shade. Right? Granted, I did the dye job a little sloppily, so it’s fading pretty fast. But it’s fading rather well, I think, which makes it a little magical. Not magical? The length of my bangs. Bloggers out in the world are convincing me that I should cut them a bit shorter and not let them get so darn shaggy.

Be sure to check out the rest of the lovely ladies who participate in the fun What To Wear series–especially if your closet is looking a little blue and you’re not quite sure what to do!

12 thoughts on “What to Wear in Blue

Leave a Reply

