What to Wear on a Road Trip

what to wear

Marci 12-12-12 Horiz RT

Hey guys! This edition is what to wear on a ROAD TRIP. Now, I’ll have you know, I’m mildly obsessed with roadtrips. My mom, sister and I are masters at them. We used to drive up and down the coast to California on an almost monthly basis when I was in high school, so we have a system. My system is comfort. I used to crawl in the backseat of our GeoMetro with all the pillows and make a seatbelt friendly nest for the trip. This outfit was for a less ambitious road trip–more like road errands. Still, the principles are the same.

Marci 12-12-12 Full RT

Coat: JCPenny | Dress: H&M | Sweatshirt: Fred Meyer | Hat: Gift | TIghts: Betsy Johnson | Shoes: Thrifted | Bag: Melie Bianco

Gosh that was a lot of elements to type in! Which brings me to my first point–layers. Lots and lots of layers. This lets you remix when you’ve gotten to where you’re going, as well letting you shed layers, as is appropriate. I would never want to wear that bushy coat in the car, but it’s perfect as a blanket towards the end once you’re getting sleepy. Since I’m totally one of those passangers. I sleep really well in cars.

Also this is the first time I’ve shown the internet these tights. I’ve had them for months and I still haven’t made up my mind on how I feel about them. I didn’t even realize until I put them on yesterday that they were Betsey Johnson tights. Woot designers… Except the quality seems really meh. They’re constantly threatening to tear and rip. So meh.

Marci 12-12-12 Top RT

Everything was designed to be super comfortable and easily remixable. Also it was designed to turn into my work outfit once my errand were done, but that’s beside the point. You guys should totally check out the rest of the lovely ladies who participate in the What to Wear series. They’re pretty sassy and delightful!

Sondra: Abhaya Yoga
Katherine: thinkin’ outloud
9 thoughts on “What to Wear on a Road Trip

  1. Oh my goodness- I love that sweatshirt! And are you in Oregon?? You made me nostalgic with the Fred Meyer reference, I’m from Eugene and grew up going there 🙂 We have similar road trip style and I’m totally a back-seat nest-maker too! Very cute look!

    • I’m in Washington, but my mister is from Oregon so we travel back and forth a lot. I love Fred Meyer and refuse to be embarrassed that one of my favorite tops came from a grocery store 🙂

  2. aww so cute, I love all your layers here! you look completely adorable but cozy as well. You had me laughing about the hides messy hair/ hairy legs, esp since I find shaving quite over-rated in winter : )

Leave a Reply

