Fauxtagrams

If you say it out loud, then you’ll think my title is rather clever! Seriously, though, guys, this is going to be the next big thing. Trust me.

Truth is I don’t have Instagram or a smart phone. I used to have a Droid but it’s suffered a damaging blow and I haven’t had time to get it checked out by a phone doctor yet. Still, not being inspired by the fun and quirky little effects of Instagram is difficult so I’ve used it as a jumping off point for some silly edits. It’s been a really fun and strange way for me to force myself to get to know Gimp better which really is a fabulous program, as long as you’re not too Adobe-brainwashed.*

Everything but the swirl I used in the lovelove image is something I pulled off a different photograph I had, or made myself. The bokeh effects were from some late night traffic pictures I had, and the speech bubble was a quicky vector I made. See? I don’t need no stinkin’ Instagram or Adobe…

*I totally used to be, so I’m not judging. It took a long time for me to be willing to relearn a photoediting program, though, and I’m so glad I did

3 thoughts on “Fauxtagrams

    • I love hearing that I’m not the only one in the blogging world that uses Gimp. Sometimes it feels like everyone pushes Photoshop so hard and I just want to know how on earth do they afford it!? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

