And now for something completely different

I guess it’s not completely different. I’ve brought up politics before, so social & cultural conversations fit just as easily in this space. I debated back and forth about sharing this as a blog post, but I really think it’s a worthwhile video. I know a lot of IRL people–good, open-minded people–who more than likely be turned off by his approach. It’s loud, it’s angry and it’s almost accusatory. But I’d argue that’s almost the point. It’s an angry, frustrating topic. His approach makes sense, and it’s worth watching, no matter who you are or what your background, skin color, gender, or political affiliation is. So please, turn up the volume and work on dishes, or painting your nails, or reshelving your books, and have a good listen.

I’d love to hear your responses to this, and I really do hope you’ll share them. And I’ll reserve the right to delete the hate.

5 thoughts on “And now for something completely different

  1. I especially like the last couple of minutes when he compares responsibility to going up to a CEO of a corporation and saying the people in the past should be responsible for debts (and subsequently saying he would be thrown out of the building).

    I’m really curious as to what spurred Tim Wise to do this. Something must have happened (in addition to him being a well-educated, responsible person and also just seeing the U.S. as it operates) . I am, however, glad he has.

    I know you probably don’t want to hear this, but I really have no other commentary other than I agree with what he says. There isn’t anything that I would argue with. He brings up great points and I don’t see it as being accusatory at all.

    In fact, I would say, like you, that maybe he has a right to be a loud and angry about it because it is a frustrating topic.

    The question is, (and maybe I missed his answer) what can we as a nation do about it? How do we change our minds collectively? Yes, we all have a responsibility, but what do we do with it? I think perhaps he’s doing exactly what “some liberals” do, where he mentions that it’s a problem, but he doesn’t propose any answers.

    Again, I may have missed it. I was doing a million things at once, like always. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing this!

    • Woot for long comments! 🙂 I haven’t read the other two but I’ll get to them. As for a solution, I feel like the best and most realistic one, the one know one wants to hear about, is just really awareness. I noted his lack of a solution as well. I know my friends are going to a White Priveledge Awareness workshop thing in Seattle, but for the most part I think the best we hope for is a growing comprehensive awareness of the problem, which helps alleviate at least part of the symptoms.

  2. Quick story: in 2002, some very outspoken man came to the courtyard area of my college and gathered quite a crowd. Imagine my surprise when he pointed to me and told me to go back to my country, that I was the reason 9/11 happened. I remember going up to my dorm room and crying angry, shocked tears at what he said. I was amazed that anyone still thought that way. Food for thought.

  3. (last comment) To the college’s credit, though, as a response to this crazy man they decided to construct a “hate wall” and designated a day to tear it down with demolition equipment. I participated in it and must admit I got teary-eyed as it came down. I still keep my piece of that wall, as it means a great deal to me.

    • That’s an awful story with a really nice answer. I know I’m as white as they get, but one thing that got me in middle school was that when some kids found out I’m part Cuban, they thought a good insult would be telling me to go back to my own country. It confused the crap out my senses. Also that story pales in comparison to actual racist bullshit. Also also that pun was soooo unintentional but I’m leaving it in anyway.

Leave a Reply

