Wanted: Someone to go back in time with me

David and I went on a super cheap date at our local cheap theater to see this movie. I saw the trailer when we went to Moonrise Kingdom a while ago, and completely forgot all about it until it popped up at The Crest. Man oh man.

So it’s hard to do this without spoilers, but I’ll try. I loved this movie. Ten minutes in, the thought bubble ‘depending on the ending, this movie is going to be my all time favorite movie’. Thirty minutes later, the thought bubble changed.

‘I don’t care what the ending is. This is my new favorite movie’

Aubrey Plaza plays the main character and I loved how she pulled off the character. It feels like there’s a sudden overabundance ofΒ weird chicks. The kind who portrayed more as caricatures than actual people. Same goes with a sarcastic typecast or stoner typecast. It was reassuring to see aΒ weird girl–one who was sarcastic and broken–also be portrayed with depth and more angles than the ones I just mentioned. Same goes for the male lead as well, for the record.

I made it all the way to the end, and it was exactly what I wanted. I imagine a lot of other people probably disagree with that part, but I can’t help it. I loved this movie.

2 thoughts on “Wanted: Someone to go back in time with me

Leave a Reply

