Lets Pretend This Never Happened

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson
4.25.12 – 4.28.12

I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s not a masterpiece of carefully crafted metaphors, and it’s not a follow up to Tolstoy. It’s not very clean and polished, nor is every sentence constructed with a surgeon’s precision.

It is, however, honest. It’s a hug to those people who need it. This book is an amazing reminder about how fallible humans can be, and how, in the end (or the middle, or the beginning, or sporadically throughout), it will be okay. Whatever concern  you had, whatever secret fear or anxiety you hide away in your heart–it’s okay. You’re not alone.

This book is like getting the most awkward, semi-inappropriate hug on a day where you really need someone, anyone, even a stranger, to tell you that you’re alright. Because you are.

I’ll admit, I’m one of the many people who bought this book because I’m a huge fan of Jenny Lawson’s blog, TheBloggess.com. It’s a website full of writing that is a combination of hilarious, painful, and comforting. She’s an amazing writer, but not in a classic sense. I was surprised but also relieved that the book follows in the same style as her blog. It’s partly just a stream of conscious full of her correcting herself as she goes, and partly an earnest pouring out of her story. And her story is definitely worth hearing. Mostly so you’ll know that whatever anxiety you have about whatever bizarre random thing you’re afraid of happening, you can rest assured that it’s already happened to someone else.

I have a feeling I’m not doing the book justice, but I hope the end impression of this review is that I loved it. I deal with some intense battles with anxieties and depression, and I read this book right before facing some of my reoccurring monsters. That turns out to be the perfect time to read it, since that book turned into a shield I could use to defend myself, comforted in the knowledge that there is someone out there who deals with similar battles, and she is even weirder than I am.

Oh yes, yes I did read this book with a glass (or two or three) of wine

Leave a Reply

