This should be fun because I really like bandwagons

I’ve been seeing the “Ten Random Facts About Me” meme pop up around the blogosphere and thought it sounded like fun, so without further ado

one I come up with really elaborate analogies, especially when David helps. We’ll spend hours coming up with the perfect analogies, like comparing Star Trek’s TOS, TNG, and Voyager to chocolate cake, brownies and a chocolate cupcake (matched up in that order). It isn’t enough to just come up with that comparison, but we’ll go into detail about why, like the ingredients breakdown and associations between the baked goods.

two I always write in the first one fifth of a journal, and rarely any further. It’s something I’m always embarrassed to admit, because I’m jealous of friends who fill journals cover to cover. I’ve only done that a handful of times, and three times it was with the exact same model of journal from B&N’s Pratt student-designed collection. They stopped carrying that specific one and it breaks my heart, because it always felt like the most perfect journal. I also think the first journal entry and the longest entry (be them the same or separate entries) set the tone for a journal, so I try and make them positive.

three I compulsively buy books. I have over three hundred and my collection is my primary indulgence in vanity, because each book feels like a beautiful trophy. For what it’s worth, my reading of said books is kept at a solid 70%, which is pretty good. I also try to track every book I read with a summary, often kept in molskins.

four I’m legitimately dyslexic when it comes to my left and rights, and it’s my sister’s fault. This is another super embarrassing confession, even though I should probably just get over that feeling. When we were little my sister spent a good three years lying to me about my lefts and rights, alternating between the truth and the opposite. It messed me up in a very permanent way, and in my head the words are completely interchangeable. It probably would have gone on for longer, but my mom caught her when we were at a doctor’s office. I was having knee problems and the doctor asked “your right knee, correct?” and I started to nod when I looked at my sister, who very subtly shook her head (it was my right knee). My mom caught her doing it and the lightbulb went off in her head and she looked at my sister and shouted out “you little bitch!” and the doctor was horrified.  So whenever I have to give directions, I’ll say the words but I also point. Look for the pointing.

five My whole family speaks Spanish except me. My dad is an immigrant from a Spanish-speaking country when he was a preteen, and gave my mom lessons in the beginning of their relationship. He got lazy, though, and never taught my sister and I. My sister took Spanish in high school, but I opted for French as a very weak gesture in teenage rebellion.

six I paint my nails therapeutically. All throughout high school I’d paint them whenever I had a bad day, or was stressed. Still do, although less often.

seven I have arthritis in my big toes. I don’t know why I have it in my left toe, but I injured my right toe (when I was walking down stairs and tripped, huzzah for being a total klutz) and severed the ligaments in my toe. Pretty gross, pretty painful, and I was on crutches for a very long time.

eight I spent seven years hating garlic. In my defense, it was after I went to a garlic festival with my mom and her very pregnant friend, who fed me garlic-flavored chocolate without my realizing it until it was too late. Far too late. Bleck.

nine I subscribe whole heartedly to the multiple best friends theory. It got me in trouble when I was in elementary school and accused of two-timing on my bff, but whatevs. Life is too short to have just one. I have seven.

ten I’m really proud of my relationship with David. I think we’ve done an amazing job building our relationship. We actively work on it on a regular basis, and it really shows when we reap the benefits. I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone else, and I love watching him grow and develop not just as a partner, but as a person.

6 thoughts on “This should be fun because I really like bandwagons

  1. “Life is too short to have just one [best friend]. I have seven.” That made me laugh out loud. Tell it on a mountain!

    Also, if TOS is chocolate cake, TNG is brownies, and Voyager is cupcakes, what is DS9? I would take that analogy and adopt it as such: TOS is cake because sometimes a slice of cake is just a bit too much for what you want, but it’s just a classic. TNG is brownies because brownies are always delicious and I could always go for a brownie. I haven’t gotten to Voyager yet but I’m not sure, based on what I’ve heard, that I’d say Voyager is cupcakes because I’m prepared not to like Voyager very much… so maybe, like, chocolate pudding? Not really my jam but people tend to like it. Can DS9 be chocolate cheesecake? A little strange at first, but comes into it’s own about three bites (see also: seasons) in?

  2. Oh my god, the left versus right thing. Me too. Except it’s because I never bothered to learn instinctively, I just always wiggled my toes and if they moved, the direction was right (my left are immobile). Does this also make you the worst co-pilot? Because it’s been the source of about 90% of tension between me and Steve, giving him the wrong directions.

    • Annnnd now I’m jealous of your foot thing, really if only for that one way to tell left and rights. David can handle me as a copilot because he’s blessed with the patience and understanding of a saint, but everyone else hates it. Except Kim, who is on the David level of understanding.

      The first time I had my learning permit, and the first time I was on the road, I was in the left turn lane and my mom said okay now turn left, and I panicked and was all “wait huh what?” and tried to get over two lanes and my sister screamed in the backseat and my mom was all YOU DID THIS

  3. I definitely laughed out loud about your lefts and rights! Oh Carol, well played. Im pretty impressed she could hide it from your mom for so long. Also, I know this is random, but I like that you spelled out the numbers.

Leave a Reply

