But my face is freakishly asymmetrical and it creeps me out

SymMarci1-1

So like I mentioned in David’s symmetrical face post, this whole project started when I started noticing how very asymmetrical my ears were. I’ve always known I have a crooked smile, so it’s not a surprise that the rest of me doesn’t match up either. But um guys I had no idea that I had two entirely different faces. I have a theory that I was originally a pair of twins, but unlike that scifi version of one twin consuming the other twin, I think my twin versions each consumed half of the other, leaving two halves that joined together, so that I am literally two halves of two different people. It’s creepy, and once you see it it can’t be unseen. Also? That crooked mouth and lopsided ears? I checked. They’re the only two symmetrical parts of my face. Oh also also? These photos? Make me feel incredibly self conscious and very vulnerable, since I know they aren’t flattering. I’m posting anyways because I’m a badass. Just thought you should know.

SymMarci1-2 SymMarci1-3

8 thoughts on “But my face is freakishly asymmetrical and it creeps me out

  1. I don’t think your smile it crooked at all! I think you’re being overly self-critical because I definitely don’t see the two face theory and I’m pretty dang gullible. I can understand that because of personal biases we probably don’t see the same face (I see all your good features and you see your worst) but I think your face is perfect as is and you should stop being so hard on yourself (because that’s totally easier done than said…).

    • I won’t lie, your comment surprised me because I didn’t mean for this post to be self-critical. I mostly thought it was funny how very different the two parts of my face are, and then when you look at the original picture, you can see where the split is. I might not be the biggest fan of the two halves on their own, but I’m pretty fond of how they come together. Although the crooked smile is a long-standing fact, documented thoroughly by my orthodontist :-) Thanks for being such a good friend! I like that you like my face

  2. I love this experiment. I never would have thought to do this. I don’t think you have anything to worry about when it comes to your regular, everyday Marci face. You’re stunning (especially in the outfit photos below! Lovin’ those expressions!). And, of course, you look wonky when Photoshop is involved. That’s what the program is for! ;)

Leave a Reply

